Sacraments & Devotions

The Sacraments


Jesus’ chosen way of gifting His life of grace to us for all time.


"Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law. There are seven: Baptism, Confirmation, the Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony. The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian’s life of faith. There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life." (Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1210.)



Holy Eucharist



Holy Orders

Anointing of Sick


These photos were taken by Fergal of Claddagh, OP.  The Halston Street Church in Dublin is home to some of the finest 19th century Catholic art to be found in Dublin.  The Church is remarkably unaltered since its opening and still serves as a place of regular worship.This particular series on the seven sacraments is not common--what beautiful depictions of our sacraments!

Related Links